Tid-Bits: There is No Future for This Love Chapter 5

IMG_2483

Chapter 5: Equivalent Exchange

Last full chapter in tank 1, folks!

The chapter continues where chapter 4 left off: Yuuji pinned against the door, Tora asking him if he likes dicks. When Yuuji doesn’t respond, Tora provokes him by inching closer and flicking Yuuji’s lips with his fingers. Yuuji eventually wakes up and pushes the other guy off him: THE ONLY THING THAT CAN TOUCH THESE LIPS ARE MY LIPSTICK, GOOD FOOD, AND MASAKI’S BODY PARTS!

Either Yuuji is strong or Tora is a little bitch, because Tora goes flying. He looks up at a trembling Yuuji and decides they’ve gone far enough – he’s seen Yuuji’s reaction and the truth is now out. So how about some coffee?

Yuuji: D:/ YOU RUB MY FACE AND EXPECT ME TO BE COOL WITH COFFEE? WELL, YOU’RE LUCKY I’M A COLLEGE STUDENT AND CANNOT AFFORD TO TURN AWAY ANYTHING FREE! ⁽͑˙˚̀བ̇˚́˙⁾̉

Yuuji decides to stay because he wants to clear the “misunderstanding” between them. Basically, crap crap crap he knows I heart Masaki and I can’t let him know that he knows because no. Gonna drink this coffee and make him believe he likes men not me….yesh, atta boy Yuuji. You got this. ฅ⁽͑ ˚̀ ˙̭ ˚́ ⁾̉ฅ

IMG_2484

We jump for a hot second to Ayumi who is still enjoying her pity party. She curses Etsuko with her womanly looks and carefree living. Life would be so much easier right now had she not the knowledge of Etsuko tickling Masaki’s testicles :/
I don’t know where these came from, but all of a sudden makeup appears next to Ayumi on her bed. She got the makeup from her sister (in that one panel apparently) but doesn’t know how to even use the darn things. She takes the lipstick and is sudden inspired: oh lipstick…must go on the lips! Whoa!!!

Before we can get too deep with that, we hop back over to Tora and Yuuji.

Tora is preparing the coffee as stated. When asked how many lumps, Yuuji bitterly mumbles one and then realizes WAIT TORA SAID ‘YOU’RE LIKE ME’ – HE LIKES DICKS. OH SHIT NO WAY

Tora: so, I knew the balls I liked to play with weren’t the kind schools had clubs for when I was in middle school

Yuuji: WAIT I JUST REALIZED YOU LIKED MEN DON’T JUST TALK LIKE I WAS ON THE SAME PAGE AS YOU THIS WHOLE TIME I’M STILL TRYING TO PROCESS ALL THIS

IMG_2485

Tora: There was an older guy in my swim club. At that time, I didn’t know what I was feeling so I got hung out with him and that speedo. And that’s when I realized, I liked him. Esp in that speedo. I confessed to him when we were alone. And yeah, shit didn’t go too well. Lots of bullying and angst but we’re just going to gloss over that for another time.

“But you know, I don’t have any regrets”

Yuuji starts to freak out at this turn of events. He came here expecting conflict, not mutual understanding/support.

IMG_2486

Tora: “Finding out I liked guys…wasn’t anything shameful to me.”

Yuuji: [Please stop]
[Your words, the ones I’ve been wanting someone to tell me all this time,]

Tora: “I mean, what’s the point in denying your feelings?

Yuuji: [Please don’t speak them so freely!]

Yuuji finally loses it and blurts out: “I’m…not like you!”

Tora: “What do you mean, not like me? That you’re not gay, but rather you want to be a woman? Is that what you mean?”

Yuuji: HOW THE FUCK??

Tora explains he saw Yuuji in chapter 4, looking like a pig in mud at the cosmetic section. Tora’s first thought was, dude wants to be a lady.

“And that’s when I realized, I needed to let you know I was on your side. Having no one to talk about these kinds of things is hard, right? It was for me too.”

At Tora’s kind smile and words, Yuuji breaks down and decides he ain’t walking out of here the same person he was going in. He’s finally found someone he can converse about his inner most feelings to and won’t be judged…

IMG_2487

The weather outside turns rainy. Tora gets up to find Yuuji an umbrella to use but is stopped when Yuuji asks that he not tell anyone about what they talked about here.

Tora: :/ really? After I just said I’m your buddy in this.

Yuuji: I’m a sensitive butterfly

Tora promises and offers Yuuji another round of coffee.

While waiting for Tora to prepare the next batch, Yuuji affirms Tora isn’t interested in being a woman. Tora says yeah which makes Yuuji a little sad. He was hoping for another person who was in the same circumstances as him. Tora chuckles and says Yuuji’s not alone. There are others out there who want to be women too.

Yuuji pretty much climbs on the table to get at Tora: WHAT!? WHERE??

IMG_2488

Tora: uh, for one thing, the internet can show you things. But anyway, there are places you know.

Yuuji: *head tilt*

Tora: oh man, you really don’t know shit.

Tora tells Yuuji he’ll take him to a place near his job.

Yuuji smiles happily at this. He was all alone and he’s not.

[But, I was so happy about making a friend, I had completely forgotten about the principle that governs this world: when something is gained, something must be lost…]

We see a pair of legs in heels walking in the rain. Who are these legs and where are they going?

Welp, since we only have 5 pages left, we won’t be kept in mystery.

IMG_2489

The final jump of the chapter goes to Masaki. He’s listening to a recording on his answering machine (holy shit what decade is this? Pay phones, answering machines? Some needs to bust out a VHS so I can determine a time period here!). The recording says the money Masaki has given isn’t enough, since dad is going to be in the hospital for a long while.

Masaki turns the recording off before it can finish. He then proceeds to fall on the floor and curses it’d be easier if his old man would just kick the bucket. He then sits up and starts to summon the Masaki council in his head to figure out what to do. But before the members can find their seats, his door bell rings…insistently. To the point where Masaki gets off his ass and answers the door. Outside in a skimpy skirt and makeup is…Ayumi!

IMG_2490

[At that moment, the one most precious to me…was stolen]

As she folds her umbrella closed, she asks if she can come in.

IMG_2491

End

DAMN! AND THIS IS WHERE THE DRAMA STARTS!
But unfortunately, the blood will be shed in tank #2 which won’t be out for a while :(

I’m happy Yuuji got a friend. At first when I read the beginning part, I thought Tora was going to force himself on Yuuji and go all unhealthy yaoi on him. But nope, he was just doing some extreme shock therapy to get Yuuji to open up. Here’s to hoping nothing fucked up happens between them because good friends are hard to find!

Ayumi I’m saddened by. GIRL WANTS THAT D! Despite the rumors and seeing Etsuko going up into Masaki’s love shack, she’s still going to try and see if she can be Masaki’s dick warmer.

I really want to know what is the appeal of this man’s cumquat! DOES IT MAKE YOU YOUNGER? DOES IT TELL THE FUTURE? OR REALLY GREAT JOKES BECAUSE SERIOUSLY HOW CAN SO MANY PEOPLE WANT TO INTERACT WITH IT??

These answers and more, to be found in the next tank of “There is No Future for This Love.”

4 thoughts on “Tid-Bits: There is No Future for This Love Chapter 5

  1. Unless I missed something, seems like they don’t have the internet so maybe this is set in the 90’s.

    But yay, Yuuji has a friend even though her friend’s a moron. “How do I let this person I just met that I bring solidarity and friendship? Pin them against a door and tell them I know their secret! Brilliant!”

    Also, I imagine the author sat down, surrounded by FMA merchandise, when they wrote the “when something is gained, something must be lost…” line. Then shouted “IT IS THE LAW OF EQUIVALENT EXCHANGE!” Then laid their head down, tears flowing as they thought about the mugger who won the lottery.

    I want to see more character development from Ayumi too—(seriously, why does she want to be with Masaki?)

    • Oh yeah, now that you mention it, I haven’t seen a computer anywhere.
      Hmm, very interesting. Wonder if there’s a reason the story takes place in the past. Make me think a time skip might happen at some point!

      Guess everyone has different methods to making friends. Some start with a handshake and an introductions, other slam said potential friend against solid surfaces and scream they’re gay.
      Whatever gets results I guess haha?

      YES! I WAS THINKING FMA TOO!

      I was trying to look up if that mugger winning the lotto story was real and this was one of the articles that popped up:
      “Muggers wielding pepper spray steal man’s laxatives in SF”

      It’s dat dick, Cree. Were we in this world, even being near it would tug at us like donuts to the police.
      We’d be on our knees just to have a peak and a whiff.
      I can only imagine that’s why Ayumi has fallen for him.

      • Time skip in most manga: main characters become middle-aged or elderly, looking at the youth and being all nostalgic. And they have the shortest bangs if they’re a dude or hair in a low ponytail if they’re a woman. And they all have kids.

        If there is a time skip, it’s gonna be interesting.

        If there were a supernatural element to this, the characters would meet after a near death experience. “You just saved my life!” “Goddammit, you messed me up, kid. Now you gotta kill this thing.”

        The “do what it takes to get results” mentality–>*cue Yuuji slamming Masaki against the wall* “Why won’t you notice me, senpai?!” “I do notice you; I’ve noticed you for a while.” *cue make-out* Yuuji’s butterflies be burning then.

        Nah, the mugger story’s not real but I’ve heard of people winning the lottery more than once.

        Haha After reading the report, I think those women stole the man’s laxatives out of spite. Gets into an argument–>”You know what, I’m gonna steal your shit!” “But I need those to shit!”

        No one’s dick is a god dick. (Plus kneeling is hard on the knees) Ayumi should ask if he’s interested but it’s Japan and they’re more conservative (and have low birth rates). She’s probably going to kick into gear when Yuuji expresses her interest.

        • Very true on the time skip. I’m thinking randomly of Naruto and Ichigo. Did those two go out drinking at the same bar, became super wasted, decided the other was their bestie, and so they decided to celebrate their friendship with a buzz cut?
          I feel bad for the girls in time skips because if they have their ponytail in a side ponytail, that’s code for “if you become the parent of a manga protagonist, you are going to die”

          A time skip would be interesting. Wonder if it would be one of those happy skips or sobbing at the graves of all the club members skips?
          Damn, if this manga started with the latter, holy shit this story would be 1000% more crazy. Supernatural would just jack the stats to the millions :p

          I’m thinking at some point Yuuji might randomly do that – slam Masaki against several walls and demand for the man to notice him.
          Masaki: what is even
          Yuuji: THIS ROOM HAS 4 WALLS AND I’M GOING TO SLAM YOU INTO ALL OF THEM UNTIL YOU NOTICE ME
          Masaki: I’VE NOTICED YOU AFTER THE FIRST WALL SLAM WTF MAN
          Yuuji: WALL #2 HERE WE COME!

          “I stole his laxatives so he couldn’t give a shit about me robbing him. Get it, guys?” Robber and police officers all laugh and decide to go to Arby’s to celebrate their new friendship before ending the night heading to the barber’s

          I didn’t think god tier dicks existed in this world anymore either. Not after the war.
          But one still lived.
          Hidden
          In women’s vaginas
          And socks.
          It’s a dick that will fuck everyone up… <- needs to be the catchphrase for this manga

Leave a Reply

