Nakayoshi 08.2016

jechtWe have come full circle. I started with Sylph and Nakayoshi on this journey oh so long ago, and now I’m back. Blame the recent news about Cardcaptor Sakura for my return :p Even though I only ever read the first tank and random episodes of that horrible horrible version we got here in the US, I was interested enough to see what was happening with ol’ Sakura and gang. However, I was too late to grab the July issue as it sold out like no one’s business, and unfortunately, though it’s available digitally, Kodansha is a little shit and region-locks all their stuff (mags and manga) :/

Thus why we have the August issue! I ended up breaking down and going to Kino to get the issue because it had sold out on amazon.jp. Thankfully, since I only had this and stationary (was buying gifts to mail to friends ~), I didn’t seem to get too much attitude. No security following me and no smart-mouthed cashiers talking in Japanese, thinking I can’t understand what they’re saying cuz they’re saying it in another language (despite the fact I’m buying books in the language they are talking shit about me in but whatever ^^;).

But I might go back because I bought this super cute magnetic bookmark and I want to buy the whole gang (since it’s stationary, I should be ok). The magnets have various animals on them wearing some form of clothing – for example, I bought the one with a polar bear wearing a top hat…because, well, it’s a polar bear with a top hat :p But I was torn between that and the hedgehog with the scarf I think and the parrot with a bonnet. I’ll probably stop by after work to pick up some more because I like the way this magnet chills in the Nakayoshi mag ~).

(I have weird tastes ^^;)

Without further ado, let’s see what’s happening in Nakayoshi!

nakayoshi082016.jpg

Cardcaptor Sakura by CLAMP
Mahotan ~ Katsujichuudoku-mono no Mahon Tansaku, Arui Ura-Toshokan no Koto (A Bibliophile’s Quest for Magic Books, or rather, the Secret of the Underground Library) by Isaki Uta
Hana to Shinobi (Flower and Shinobi) by Hasegaki Narumi
Doukyuusei ni Koi o Shita (Falling for a Classmate) by Miasa Rin
5cm Cinderella by Mizuki Shizuka
Sabagebuu! by Matsumoto Hidekichi
Hatsukoi Hajimemashita (Experiencing First Love) by Yamada Daisy
Deguchi Zero (No Escape) by Seta Haruhi
Mahou-Tsukai Precure! by Toudou Izumi and Kamikita Futago
Aoba-kun ni Kikitai Koto by Tooyama Ema
Kigurumi Boueitai (Kigurumi Guardians) by Hoshino Lily
Kurohyou to 16-sai (The Black Panther and 16 Years Old) by Toriumi Pedoro
Hoozuki no Reitetsu – Shiro no Ashiato by Eguchi Natsumi and Shiba Monaka
Tsukumo-kun no Ai wa Machigatte Iru (Wrong about Tsukomo’s Love) by Yukimori Sakura
Boku no Koi wa 3-bun shika Motanai (My Love only Lasts for 3 Minutes(?)) by Kayabuki Naya
Shougakusei no Himitsu (Secrets of Elementary School Students) by Nakae Mikayo
Wankorobee by Abe Yuriko

Cover pages can be found here: Part I // Part II

Cardcaptor Sakura by CLAMP – literally have no idea what’s going on since I missed chapter 1 but Yue makes his appearance again :J Plus there’s a cute Sakura x Syaoran moment ~
Sakura has a dream and some bro in a Kingdom Heart’s Nobody costume gives Sakura a new wand pendent. She wakes up to find said wand pendent in her hand. The wand pendent starts to glow because why not, and the light points towards her window. Sakura runs to her window and throws back the curtains like she’s trying to catch someone in the act
And instead of a pervert with his drawers down, we see a giant dragon in the sky.
????

Hana to Shinobi: Kare Kano (Flower and Shinobi: Him and Her) by Hasegaki Narumi – this is a sequel of the prior “Hana to Shinobi,” thus I have no idea what’s going on. Pretty art tho.

Mahotan ~ Katsujichuudoku-mono no Mahon Tansaku, Arui Ura-Toshokan no Koto (A Bibliophile’s Quest for Magic Books, or rather, the Secret of the Underground Library) – beautiful art. Sadly have no idea what’s going on but it’s got magical library feels all over :3 Will def grab the tank when it’s available ~

5cm Cinderella by Mizuki Shizuka – a short about a couple who are short themselves haha. The girl is happy she’s shorter than the boy but puberty kicks in and she finds herself now taller than him. Scared he’s going to break up with her due to their height difference, she tries to make it look like she’s shorter than him. But come on, you can’t hide height lol. Was a cute short. Had a good message about loving someone for who they are, not for their physical characteristics.

Sabagebuu! by Matsumoto Hidekichi – …this literally parodied Castoway, except Wilson is a bikini top…wtf? o__O

Deguchi Zero (No Escape) by Seta Haruhi – no idea what’s going on but these fuckers have been trying to escape for 11 volumes? Shit, I wouldn’t be surprised if this is a series from back when I first tried Nakayoshi and it just never ended lol

Aoba-kun ni Kikitai Koto (All Ears for Aoba) by Tooyama Ema – I’m always a fan of Tooyama Ema’s shy girls so needless to say, I’m probably going to be buying the tanks for this series lol. I actually didn’t even know she was releasing another series in Nakayoshi besides Kami Kami Kaeshi ~

Kigurumi Boueitai (Kigurumi Guardians) by Hoshino Lily – so all these mascot characters look like they came out of Five Nights at Freddy’s. And if you kiss them, they become bishis??? So confused…but I’m kinda intrigued. Might grab the tanks to see wtf is going on :p

Kurohyou to 16-sai (The Black Panther and 16 Years Old) by Toriumi Pedoro – holy shit is this in the right magazine? This title seems SUPER risque for elementary school students D: I mean, as an adult, I find it interesting, but as a kid, like hot damn, suckling on a girl’s neck while throwing her on a bed? o___o||| I’d be thinking, where is the magical girl stuff again? I is scared…

Boku no Koi wa 3-bun shika Motanai (My Love only Lasts for 3 Minutes(?)) by Kayabuki Naya – how sad. While this is a new series in Nakayoshi, it’s a continuation of a short. Thus characters have already been introduced and the plot set. I was looking forward to this because it’s a romance between a popular boy and a girl that’s into gaming. Ah well…

Shougakusei no Himitsu (Secrets of Elementary School Students) by Nakae Mikayo – that title! It sounds like perv bait from that show “To Catch a Predator” :Y Apparently this series is based off a novel of the same name. The focus is on a love triangle between a girl, her childhood friend, and some kid dressed up like an English prince lol?
Be surprised because the childhood friend actually wins this heart duel!

preview_thumb.gif

In the next issue, Shougakusei no Himitsu changes heroines (?) and titles to “Shougakusei no Himitsu: Classroom.”A new series based on a DS game is going to start: Yuzu no Doubutsu Karute (Yuzu’s Veterinary Medical Records). There will be a short called “Hatsukoi Sweet Orange” (First Love Sweet Orange)

In the end, there wasn’t much for me to read but I did find a lot of series I want to start following, so I guess that’s a win? :J

Next to post will be the two Love Jossies I keep promising haha. Turns out I still had one more title to read for issue #6 :p I’m off to jog and be healthy but I should get to posting tonight or tomorrow at the latest! >__<

Leave a Reply

