Liebster Award ~

Big thank you to pantasticpanda for the nomination. Didn’t think my little hole in the wall blog would ever get any sort of award haha. Let’s hope I do this right :P

liebster2

Liebester Award Nomination Rules:

More Details can be found -> {here} <3

1. Thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog on your blog.
2. Display the award on your blog — by including it in your post and/or displaying it using a “widget” or a “gadget”.
3. Answer 11 questions about yourself, which will be provided to you by the person who nominated you.
4. Provide 11 random facts about yourself.
5. Nominate 5 – 11 blogs that you feel deserve the award, who have a less than 1000 followers.
6. Create a new list of questions for the blogger to answer.
7. List these rules in your post (You can copy and paste from here.) Once you have written and published it, you then have to:
8. Inform the people/blogs that you nominated that they have been nominated for the Liebster award and provide a link for them to your post so that they can learn about it (they might not have ever heard of it!)

Random facts about Sylph:

  1. I’m an only child
  2. I hate mangos and fish (but if I was forced to choose, I would eat a fish over a mango. Too much childhood trauma associated with that fruit o__o)
  3. I prefer cold temperatures to hot (though I die in humidity ;___;)
  4. I have two dogs (technically 1 but my dad insists his dog is mine haha), though not with me currently because of where I’m living (apartment life is too cruel on them…)
  5. I love bargain shopping ~
  6. I enjoy playing JRPG games like Final Fantasy, Kingdom Hearts, and Tales of…
  7. I make a mean bowl of cereal (translation: my cooking skills are shameful. Pray for my future children)
  8. I love cute things ~ <3
  9. My favorite combo of genres is comedy, adventure, and a bit of romance (with or without a splash of fantasy/supernatural).
  10. Sailor Moon was the first anime I ever saw :)
  11. I’m the worst person when it comes to deadlines. I’ll either do it early or I’ll do it 8 months from now. I’m like that with everything from projects to replying to texts messages.

11 Questions from pantasticpanda:

1. Why did you start your blog and what motivates you to write?

Part I (Why did you start your blog): In a nutshell, I started this blog as a way to work on my Japanese and to share what I read to others (and maybe meet like minded folk).

The more detail version (be warned, it’s long!): my college only offered mid-level Japanese. I had taken some classes in high school that taught me basic vocabulary and the alphabet. However, I never got further than that. Conversation? Maybe I could say “why, you have a very clean toilet!” ⊙ ◡ ⊙ but I wasn’t at any level to be ordering no Subway sandwich. Listening? My dog’s barks made more sense to me than a conversation in Japanese. Reading? Barely. Writing? Ha. Hahahahahaha no.
I can’t remember the exact reason but something made me want to learn Japanese again after all that time (possibly I was getting tired of scans I was reading stopping and never continuing?). If I’m recalling right, I think around this time, there was a boom in individuals posting their translations on the net and blogs were getting more notice. Every time I visited a blog, it made me want to get my own. However, I wasn’t sure what I wanted to post about so I never got one.
But the idea never left me.
One day, I was browsing akadot. I had never used akadot before and the only reason I found it was because it was linked with DMP. I noticed their sales section and of course, being the thrifty spender that I am, I went straight in there. The things on sale weren’t just translated goods but also items from Japan such as manga, books, and magazines. I had gone into the magazine section for some reason (maybe to be thorough in my bargain shopping?) and that’s when I found Sylph. For some reason, I became fixated on that magazine. I couldn’t find any info on it via the internet but I really wanted it.
Like, unhealthy want. ლ(◉◞⊖◟◉`ლ) MUST HAVE!
My brain started to rationalize why I should buy the mags (very scary actually ahah). During this internal debate, that’s when the parts of my brain that wanted to improve my Japanese and have a blog stepped up to add their weight to my purchasing decision. Why not buy the magazine to work on translations and then post those translations on a blog? At the same time, I’d be advertising the magazine to others who were interested.
Me: welp I’m not going to argue with that solid argument *puts mags in shopping*
And that’s how my blog started xD
I was originally on livejournal but I didn’t like it that much. I remember someone I followed had a wordpress blog and I liked that I could customize my blog (as well as stalk my blog traffic). Thus I shortly moved my blog to wordpress and I’ve been here ever since :)

Part II (What motivates you?): As you all may or may not have noticed (this blog is pretty obscure so I don’t have many long term followrs lol), I’ve been pretty inactive over the past few years, posting sporadically. I had a lot of life changes going on during this time that pretty much took over my life. I was still reading Sylph and manga, but not that seriously. Real life and being social were demanding a lot of my time (。_。;)). Also, I had a hard time adjusting from school life to adult life with a real job (mostly it was because I didn’t want to let go of my laziness haha). However, I’ve been doing better at balancing things (thus why you’re seeing more than 1 post every three months).

What motivated me to continue blogging despite life’s shitstorm was because I really enjoy rambling (pretty much :P). I like writing summaries and talking about what’s going on in Sylph. It makes me happy to see when things I post get traffic because hopefully that means more exposure for that title or whatever I was blahing about. And if someone out there who likes the things I do stumbles upon this blog and ends up following me, well, an even bigger win :) I’m hoping to continue with this blog despite what life throws at me.
I’m happy to report the original purpose of this blog has helped me to continue improving my Japanese (reading and listening. Writing and talking, ha!!). I’ve definitely improved by bounds and leaps but that might be because I never stopped and kept practicing :P Though I’m no where near reading a novel yet, each day is a step closer :)

I’m hoping to be more regular with my posts (I really want to say pooping too because that’s the first thing I think of when I hear “regular” xD). My goal is to post about things such as what I’ve read – both translated and non-translated –, purchases I’ve made (manga and maybe even clothes too. I’ve finally expanded out beyond jeans and t-shirts ^^), magazine info, and summaries.

FYI – I’ll probably disappear around late spring/early summer in 2015 because that’s when I’m going to be trained by my job (forgot to mention but I GOT THE PROMOTION :D LET’S JUST HOPE I CAN SURVIVE TRAINING BECAUSE THAT WOULD SUCK AFTER ALL THAT SUFFERING TO BE DEMOTED okay let’s not think about that possibility GO SYLPH CLIMB OVER THAT HURDLE!) but I’ll be back >:3

2. Do you have a favorite post on your blog? (If so, which one is it?)

Think it would have to be “One of the Best Reactions Exhibited by a Dude upon Seeing Another Male’s Wang (PS this is why I love manga)” or “Manga Lessons: Why you should call the cops instead of calling your friends in an emergency (Daydream★Nightmare)” B’s Log Kyun had some crazy shit in it xD

3. Do you know a foreign language? (If so, which one? If not, which language would you like to learn?)

To a certain degree, Japanese :P (still working on it haha)

4. What’s your biggest dream in life?

I’ve got three bits right now:
– to be proficient in reading and listening in Japanese to the point where I can read novels and video games with ease
– to write novels (don’t care about getting them published – that’s what my day job is for :P)
– to illustrate said novels / draw a comic

5. Who is your favorite artist? (They can be from any field of art.)

In art, my two favorites (I can’t choose 1 :P) is the person who illustrates the Amnesia otome game (花邑まい) and the person who illustrates for the Disgaea games (原田 たけひと) :3

6. Do you have a favorite traveling experience? (If so, how did it go?)

I have traveled to Japan a few times with my family but otherwise I haven’t left the country. I’ve been to almost most of the states here in the US tho! :3

7. If not, where would you like to travel to and why?

I would like to go to Europe ~ (for the eats <3)

8. Who is your favorite character ever and why? (It’s okay if you have more than one favorite. :) )

o3o huh…good question. I never really thought of who my ultimate favorite character is…I tend to enjoy a lot of characters but I don’t think I could pick just one :P If I had a gun to my head, I guess maybe either Howl or Sophie from Howl’s Moving Castle (the book and movie) – Howl because he’s Howl, and Sophie because I like how she just adapted to her situation and didn’t dwell on the now and instead helped those around her. Plus she’s hilarious (especially in the book). I also like Numair from the Immortal series by Tamora Pierce (because he made me laugh ~).

9. What’s your favorite type of food and why?

Delicious food :9 As long as it’s yummy and it doesn’t give me food poisoning, I’ll eat it!

10. What are your hobbies?

Reading (manga and novels), playing video games, and drawing ~

11. How do you feel after completing these questions? :D ( I apologize for the jumbled mess)

My fingers are a bit cramped from rambling but it was fun otherwise :D

My Liebster Award Nominations:

Think this chain will end with me ^^; As mentioned, I’ve been pretty erratic with my time blogging over the years so I haven’t been keeping up with folk. Lots of bloggers I used to follow are inactive now and most of the new followers who recently started to watch my blog have already been nominated.

But I’ll give it a try!:

@peachidreami
@rockinichigo
@akiganagakunaru

11 Questions for My Nominees (lol not sure why I’m doing this part ^^;):

  1. Favorite book?
  2. Favorite genre?
  3. Favorite Sailor Scout ~
  4. Iphone or Android?
  5. Every break a bone?
  6. Any pets?
  7. Can you tell me a scary story (either real or fictional) and what is it?
  8. Do you like desserts?
  9. Favorite type of fragrance?
  10. Heels or no heels?
  11. Do you know another language besides English?

Andddddd I’m done :3
Thanks again pantasticpanda ~
And thanks to anyone that actually read the whole thing. Go out and tell someone to give you a good pat on the back because that’s hard core! :)

thank you

5 thoughts on “Liebster Award ~

Leave a Reply

