Emerald Ciel Summer 2014 Issue

iconSince I just suck when it comes to posting about magazines I collect, I’ll just give a quick blurb on what’s going on (contents, what’s ending, what’s starting, etc).
I’ll do summaries on anything inside if requested :)

 

First up:

Emerald Ciel

DSC_0128

Now I got this one because I heard it was going to be advertised as a magazine with both BL and shojo mixed into it, kinda like Ichiraci. Also, I’ve gotten into Hakkenden thanks to the anime and it’s now serialized in this magazine (that’s how into Hakkenden I am…).

Here’s my reaction in a nutshell:

emerald

So it turns out…there’s no shojo in here (unless they’re counting Hakkenden as the shojo bit?). It’s just all BL, which I wasn’t expecting (´. ω .`)

DSC_0129
Thought I was crazy but nope, says it right there on the cover – Read both BL and Shojo!?

Ah well, since I bought the magazine, I did read it. I mean, what else was I supposed to do haha? ^^;
While BL isn’t really my cup of tea, I do like Nakamura Shungiku’s stuff (her characters make me laugh ~) and about half of Emerald was dedicated to her works so I guess it wasn’t a huge loss? If anything, I got Hakkenden out of it :J Though FYI it’s the only thing I haven’t read because I’m still trying to play catch up with the manga. On #5 right now.

Contents:

Super Lovers by Abe Miyuki Chapter 22
Junjou Romantica by Nakamura Shungiku Chapter 37
Junjou Terrorist by Nakamura Shungiku Chapter 11
Sekaiichi Hatsukoi  by Nakamura Shungiku Chapter 19
Kamisama Darling by Aiba Kyouko Chapters 1 & 2
Mahoutsukai no Dekiai (The Doting Magician) Mini Comic
Kishi no Dekiai (The Doting Knight) Short Story
Hakkenden by Abe Miyuki Chapter 53
Tonari no Banken / The Watch Dog Which Is Together (The Watchdog Next to Me) by Sugihara Chako (the main dude needs to work on his fashion sense. I couldn’t with that overalls x ballet flat combo…)
Hybrid Child by Nakamura Shungiku
Sekaiichi Hatsukoi – Yokozawa Takafumi no Baai by Nakamura Shungiku Mini Comic
Sekaiichi Hatsukoi – Yokozawa Takafumi no Baai by Nakamura Shungiku Short Story

Thoughts:

Super Lovers freaked me out. I was like, oh look at the older brother worried for his younger brother *turns page* and now he’s jerking off the younger brother…uhhhhhh (◉◞౪◟◉ ) isn’t that kid like 15!? Plus the younger brother looks like Shino from Hakkenden so that makes it even worse ;____;). I haven’t been keeping up with Junjou and Sekaiichi but it seems like things haven’t progressed that much since I left off haha. Both entertained though :) Kamisama Darling was pretty funny, if only because of the main character’s commentary. No real comments on The Doting Magician or The Doting Knight, though wtf to the Knight one. Your bonus material is two dudes banging each other? You’d figure the writer would do something else because unless you’ve read the books, you have no knowledge on these two butt humping…Lastly was Tonari no Banken whose ballet flats distracted me too much from the story.

Next issue:

DSC_0128

Super Lovers *shudders* will be taking the cover of the Winter issue of Emerald. We’ve got another chapter of Hakkenden (yay). More Kami-sama Darling and I’m not sure but it looks like this same manga-ka is going to draw another thing titled “Toshishita Kareshi ni Semararetemasu” (~ My Younger Boyfriend is Pressuring Me). More Sekaiichi Hatsukoi and Junjou Romantica. Oops, almost missed this one – more of the fashion disaster that is Tonari no Banken (seriously kid, you and Aoba from DMMD are on the Most Wanted by the Fashion Police…). Then we have at least three (possibly more) more manga-ka joining Emerald: Minase Masara, Hakoishi Tammy, Yumeuta Yotsuba.

Final comment:

Not bad if you’re a BL fan. Very disappointing from those looking for shojo though :( None in sight.
I might get the Winter issue partly to see if there really will be shojo serialized – but mostly for Hakkenden ~

Note:

For those of you who missed getting the first issue, Kadokawa announced on Emerald website that they will be printing a second run of the first issue. The reissues are expected to be out around September 19.

2 thoughts on “Emerald Ciel Summer 2014 Issue

Leave a Reply

