Reading and Finals Don’t Mix xD

2Howdy my peeps ~ How is life treating you? If you’re a student like myself, you must be dreading life ~ Papers, presentations, and…the evil known as finals :< Gah, why do finals exist!? They’re like the final boss in a game. If you want to pass and get to the end, you have to spend so much time grinding to boast your level and earn money to improve your armor and weapons…

(unless you’re playing FFXIII, where you can’t harvest cash from the corpses of your fallen enemies. Rather, you have to spend hours walking in circles in hopes the enemies you’ve mutilated (hey you’ve shot, punched, and stabbed them – they can’t look that pretty in the end) shit out expensive rocks that sell for shit price (but have a shitton buy price in the store <- wtf).

But unlike in a game, if you die, you can’t just restart. Well, you can in college. But that involves thousands of dollars and shattered self-esteem. Not something one enjoys putting themselves through…well, those of us that aren’t M that is xD

Anyway, while I’m “enjoying” my final days of the winter semester engrossed with school related activates, I’m also preparing to move ~ Yay! More stress! BUT! This stress is worth it! Why? BECAUSE AFTER SWEATING BULLETS FOR 4 MONTHS I FINALLY GOT ACCEPTED INTO MY INTERNSHIP 8D YAY FOR NOT BEING A DRUG OVERLORD WHO SPENDS HER TIME PLOTTING TO OVERTHROW THE GOVERNMENT WHILE ENJOYING A GOOD ROUND OF VOYEURISM ON SUNDAYS!!! (<- yeah, you get asked some pretty wacky questions on BG checks. Like, I was asked if I took part in dog fights or if I’ve ever covered up a  murder. Me: OwO; My dad joked about my BG check papers. He asked if the agency I was to work with didn’t mix them up with some prison forms xD).

Where am I going with this? Well, my father already came up earlier and we loaded some of my stuff in his truck (my TV and PS3 being two of them D:). He also took quite a surprising amount of manga and books from my shelves as well. I left a couple behind to read (or maybe for comfort? I like my books). Sitting in my empty room, I noticed the books and grabbed one. Next thing I knew half the day was gone and I was half way through the book xD Not a good combination when you have finals to study for!

One week down and three books down xD How come I only feel like reading when it’s not the proper time haha?

The three books I read were THE DARK ELITE by CHLOE NEILL, SUMMER, FIREWORKS, AND MY CORPSE by OTSUICHI, and THE DISAPPEARANCE OF HARUHI SUZUMIYA by NAGARU TANIGAWA

dark

Summary on the back:

Firespell

As the new girl at the elite St. Sophia’s boarding school, Lily Parker thinks her classmates are the most monstrous things she’ll have to face…

When Lily’s guardians decided to send her away to a fancy boarding school in Chicago, she was shocked. So was St. Sophia’s. Lily’s ultra-rich brat pack classmates think Lily should be the punchline to every joke, and on top of that, she’s hearing strange noises and seeing bizarre things in the shadows of the creepy building.

The only thing keeping her sane is her roommate, Scout, but even Scout’s a little weird—she keeps disappearing late at night and won’t tell Lily where she’s been. But when a prank leaves Lily trapped in the catacombs beneath the school, Lily finds Scout running from a real monster.

Scout’s a member of a splinter group of rebel teens with unique magical talents, who’ve sworn to protect the city against demons, vampires, and Reapers, magic users who’ve been corrupted by their power. And when Lily finds herself in the line of firespell, Scout tells her the truth about her secret life, even though Lily has no powers of her own—at least none that she’s discovered yet…

Hexbound

Lily Parker is new to St. Sophia’s School for Girls, but she’s already learned that magic can be your best friend…or your worst enemy.

They say absolute power corrupts absolutely. Turns out, even a little magic can turn you to the dark side. That’s why Lily has to learn how to control her newly discovered paranormal abilities, on top of avoiding the snobs who think they run her school, nursing a crush on a cute sophomore with a big, werewolf-y secret, and fighting the good fight with her best friend Scout as they take on Chicago’s nastiest nightlife—including the tainted magic users known as Reapers.

Then Lily’s invited to a private meeting with Sebastian. He’s hot, powerful, and offering to help her harness the magic flowing in her veins in a way no one else can. He’s also a Reaper. Lily can’t hide her suspicions. But she’ll soon find out that the line between good and evil isn’t always clear…

Lol, I like how both summaries totally over-dramatize the actual story xD

The omnibus wasn’t bad. What I liked best were the conversations between Scout and Lily. Their banter/jokes are fun to read :3 (I love books about friendship ~) What I didn’t like was how fast the romance flew. Like, it went from, oh hey there, to, KISSY KISSY. Me: (ಠ_ಠ) wait what!? I’m not a fan of Jason (one of the male interests). He’s…I don’t know. Something about him. Who I like is Sebastian (no, not just because he shares the same name as the demon butler from Black Butler xD). He doesn’t see the world as black and white like Lily’s side does. And he doesn’t pull an emo all over the place which is nice ~ Hope to see more of him ~

sum

Summer, Fireworks, and My Corpse
By Otsuichi

Summary on the Back:

Two short novels, including the title story and Black Fairy Tale, plus a bonus short story. Summer is a simple story of a nine-year-old girl who dies while on summer vacation. While her youthful killers try to hide her body, she tells us the story—from the point of view of her dead body—of the children’s attempt to get away with murder.
Black Fairy Tale is classic J-horror: a young girl loses an eye in an accident, but receives a transplant. Now she can see again, but what she sees out of her new left eye is the experiences and memories of its previous owner. Its previous deceased owner.

As expected from Otsuichi, this was creepy as shit to read. Murderer children, crazy people, some dude playing Bob the Builder with human body parts D: That last short story made me worry about this author. I’m kind of glad he put his creative tastes into writing because I’m nervous had he no outlet, he might have made his words reality o___O;

You can tell this was his first book. Zoo had a bigger impact on me though this book freaked me out on a different level.

(PS. I liked Otsuichi’s Afterward. “Takashi, don’t be like me…good luck, Takashi. Don’t be a writer.” <- he’s talking about some random kid staring at him while he’s eating. It just amuses me the things authors write in their Afterward xD).

haruhid

THE DISAPPEARANCE OF HARUHI SUZUMIYA
Novel Volume 4

by Nagaru Tanigawa 

Summary on the back:

It’s one week before Christmas Eve, and Haruhi and the SOS Brigade (a club for her high school’s strangest and most extraordinary students) are gearing up for holiday festivities. But just before the fun kicks off, Kyon, the only “normal” club member, wakes up in a weird alternate dimension — one in which Haruhi attends another school entirely; Nagato, the robot-like alien, is just an ordinary human; and Mikuru, the cute girl of Kyon’s dreams, doesn’t even recognize him. In other words, the SOS Brigade never existed. Kyon must head back in time to set things right again in this holiday tale reminiscent of A Christmas Carol and It’s a Wonderful Life. Time travel, alternate dimensions, and aliens, oh my! With Haruhi, there’s a surprise around every corner.

I’ve been pretty bad with my light novels xD How long has this volume been on my shelf, untouched? Well, the stress of finals changed that! I retreated to Haruhi when I wanted a break from studying. Reading this 4th book makes me want to watch the movie ~ I really enjoyed Disappearance :3 I think it’s my second favorite after Melancholy now ~

I really need to re-read this series once I’ve caught up with all the latest volumes. Lots of information keeps getting mentioned – especially events that happened in later volumes (these later volumes have short stories that take back in the past before certain volumes happened…yeah it’s a bit confusing xD)

And that’s it ~

2 thoughts on “Reading and Finals Don’t Mix xD

  1. I know how you feel when it comes to procrastinating on finals. I’m doing so too by being on the internet in general. And those book reviews remind me that I still have to finish reading my House of Night book. That first book seems interesting and horribly cliche at the same time.

    The Haruhi one. The only comment I have for that is “WTF with her eyebrows. (⊙_◎) “

    • The internet is your enemy when you need to get things done. That’s why whenever I need to get shit done, I usually leave my computer off so I’m not tempted to play on it xD Too much time is wasted just clicking aimlessly ~ it’s addicting though @_____@

      8D
      I’ve read the first book too! (I think I said this a long time ago but I shall repeat it for my memory’s sake!) I’ve been holding back on reading the rest because I heard she’s going to get all horny for lots of guys and there’s going to be lots of sex angst o3o (like her boyfriend thinks she’s a cheating ho and leaves her so she goes to some other dude who is all, hey, like your butt, hump me ~ only he’s evil or some shiz like that so she doesn’t get to hump him and he explodes but not really because he’ll appear in book 4 again to strut his stuff and like her butt, so while that is going on she goes for dude #2 who is in the corner eating cheetoes and tries to get with him but he’s all, I’m French and gets a job at McDonalds, further denying her from getting some and yadda yadda. Just, crazy stuff). When you read the series, let me know how it is ~ if you don’t mind :3

      Yeah…man brows…what’s sad is her and I probably have the same man brows xD (my father often joked that my mother was a werewolf xD Sigh, typical I’d get the dominate hairy gene instead of my dad’s recessive not-that-hairy gene :__;)

Leave a Reply

