シルフ3月号内容紹介

Been awhile since I popped out a Comic Sylph Blog Translation ~
I’m almost caught up to the main site :D
Just one more ~ [Edit: make that two. The site JUST updated as I’m posting this ^^;]
So, have you all heard of the Tongue Biter? It’s a parasite that targets certain fish. It uses these hooks to get into the fish’s mouth. Once inside, it’ll remove the fish’s tongue and essentially “become” the tongue. In the mouth, the parasite will have access to food the fish ingests. Pretty sick, huh? What’s even creeper is more than one Tongue Biter can parasitize a fish! Talk about a mouthful ~
Now that I’m done creeping you all out with that tid-bit, on to the blog translation! This was originally posted on Comic Sylph‘s official page on January 21, 2011.

Title: Content in Sylph‘s March Edition

あれは中学3年生の時…塾の冬期講習でのことでした。
英語の長文問題の中に「Washington」という単語が出てきたんです。
ところが、当時の私にはこれが読めなかったんですね。

Back when I was a 3rd year middle school student…we had these winter short courses offered by the cram schools.
There, while reading a long question in English, I encountered this huge word: Washington
Now, back then, I didn’t know how to read that, right?

で、単語を分けて考えてみようと。そう思ったんです。

So, I thought, hey, I’ll break up the word and see if I can decipher the meaning that way.

「Washing」=洗うこと (“To wash” in Japanese)
「ton」=豚 (“Pig” in Japanese; can either be pronounced as “buta” or “ton”)

「Washington」 = 豚 洗 浄 ・・・・・・!!

[Washington] = PIG WASHING!?

※お気づきかと思いますが、「ton」=豚 は大間違いです。

※Now that I think about it, associating “ton” with “pig/ton” wasn’t the smartest idea.

で、当たり前ですけど、前後の文章とまったく意味が通らず、
悩み続けた……そんな記憶があります。

It was a reasonable thing to do but because of it, I couldn’t make heads or tails of the question! I was so lost…yeah, I’ve got memories about stuff like that.

こんな私でも、第一志望の高校に(奇跡的に)合格できました。
だから受験生の皆さんも、最後までがんばってください!

Despite being that way, I was still able to (miraculously) get into my first choice high school.
So, to all of you who are preparing for your tests, do your best to the end!

というわけで、受験シーズンまっただなかではありますが、
受験生にもぴったり★な下敷き付録付き、シルフ3月号、本日発売です!

Speaking of which, since we’re currently in the middle of the test-taking season, you  examinees will be happy to know that included with the March edition of Sylph (released today) is a shitajiki (pencil board) – just what any examiner needs★

※ちなみに「Washington」は「ワシントン」です。地名です。
豚洗浄、とマジメに考えた当時の自分……きらいじゃない。

※By the way, “Washington” is actually the name of a place (ワシントン).
I honestly thought it was about “pig washing”…I can’t help but be pissed at the me back then…

--------------------------

*again, I won’t be translating the manga-kas’ names ^^ sorry*

■表紙&巻頭カラー

豪華絢爛★ 待望の新連載
『少年王女』 雪広うたこ 企画原案:武蔵野ぜん子

■Cover & Front Color Page

The extravagant★long awaited new serialization
Shounen Oujo” (Boy Princess) Yukihiro Utako

--------------------------

■キュン萌え★トキメキ連載&読み切り
■Styles that’ll make your heart pitter-patter★Heart-racing stories from start to end

『空から! マイ☆NANNY』 氷堂涼二
『薄桜鬼』 作画:ひらく椥 原作:オトメイト/「薄桜鬼」製作委員会
『BROTHERS CONFLICT』イラスト:ウダジョ シナリオ:水野隆志(エム・ツー) 企画・原案:叶瀬あつこ
『花檻草子』長神
『大和彼氏』 作画:純愛鏡 原案・監修:アニメロ Dear Girl
『死神DOGGY』 山本佳奈
『ひめごとははなぞの』 わたなべあじあ
『腐女子っス!』 御徒町 鳩
『クラノア』 作画:久遠あき 原作:加藤千穂美 キャラクターデザイン:キリシマソウ
『白アリッッ』ぺぷ
『同居チュウ!』 ことり野デス子
『緋色王子』 村崎 翠
『ボイス・ボーイズ セカンドボイス』 ゑむ
『VitaminZ』 三島一彦 原作:D3パブリッシャー
『聖魂サクリファイス』 天河 藍
『神々式★アカデミー』 暁 かおり
『星屑町のパンのミミ』松本 花
『オカケン』 RATS
『コーミィと絵美のめざせ乙女コミック賞!!』 朔坂みん
『かふぇかふぇ』 オカモトサトル

Sora Kara! My☆Nanny (From the Sky! My☆Nanny!)
Hakuouki
Brother Conflict
Hana Ori Soushi
Yamato Kareshi
Shinigami Doggy
Himegoto wa Hanazono
Fujoshissu
Kuranoa
Shiro Ari
Doukyo Chu!
Crimson Prince
Voice*Boys*Second Voice
Vitamin Z

Zeele Sacrifice
Kamigami Shiki★Academy
Hoshikuzuchou no Pan no Mimi
Okaken

Koumi and Emi’s Desired Otome Award
Cafe-Cafe

--------------------------
■付録

シルフ2月号表紙を“完全版”でお届け!
「DGS響」あけおめは終わらない!下じき

■Supplement/Furoku

We present to you the “full” version of Sylph‘s February Cover Page!
DGS Hibiki” The New Year isn’t over! Shitajiki

--------------------------
※『ハカセがっ!!』は作者急病により休載いたします。

The manga-ka of “Hakusega!!!” suddenly became ill, so there will be no new chapter this month

**icon is of the manga “Boy Princess”

6 thoughts on “シルフ3月号内容紹介

    • I love the WASHINGTON = PIG WASHING bit xD
      (because I do the same thing with kanji – I’ll break it up to see if I can understand it. Sometimes it’s a success, other times I’m like, whut!? Why is that here!? Confusion!!!)

      Thanks for reading x3

        • :D Indeed!
          It’s always fun to see the happenings of those in other parts of the world.
          Like you for example, it’s totally awesome that anime/manga is popular over in Europe (<-I'm an ignorant boob. For some reason, I keep thinking anyone who likes manga and anime & speak English automatically live in the US .////. Through this blog, I've met fans all over the world!)
          Yay for bishies, er, I mean, manga and anime love!

  1. Pingback: Color Scans of Comic Sylph March Edition « Spoils

  2. Pingback: March 2011 Snippets « Spoils

Leave a Reply

