Harmony (light novel opinion)

Been awhile since I’ve done an “opinion” ^^;
Sorry guys, school has been a wee bit tough this year
I’m slowly getting back to reading light novels
(though as I’m typing this, I pushed Kieli #3 aside to read a comedy romance – Eat, Prey, Love xD The description sounded hilarious)
(I loving the part I’m at: the main chick is freaking out that her nephew was flying during a basket ball game Main Chick: >:U wtf!?)
(“Levitating,” her sister corrects)
(Main chick: @#$%! Same difference!!!! *foams that the mouth* @___@)
(Also, blame Harvey. I have to be in the mood to tolerate Harvey’s manpain moments. Sigh -__-;)

Title: Harmony
Author: Project Itoh

Description on the back:

In the future, Utopia has finally been achieved thanks to medical nanotechnology and a powerful ethic of social welfare and mutual consideration. This perfect world isn’t that perfect though, and three young girls stand up to totalitarian kindness and super-medicine by attempting suicide via starvation. It doesn’t work, but one of the girls – Tuan Kirie – grows up to be a member of the World Health Organization. As a crisis threatens the harmony of the new world, Tuan rediscovers another member of her suicide pact, and together they must help save the planet… from itself.

Just finished Harmony and all I can say is WOW. I won’t lie: the first half was super slow for me. I thought this story was just about some angsty kids dissatisfied with life in a SF setting. That’s how Harmony came off until about midway into the book. This ultimatum was what turned the whole book around for me: if you want to live, then you have to kill someone. If you don’t, you’ll be forced to kill yourself. I was like, wtf!? That’s crazy! What’s going to happen!?

From then on, I devoured the book, wanting to see the conclusion. I must say the ending was definitely NOT what I expected. However, while mind blowing, I do have problems with the ending. Specifically, the main problem being not everyone has the WatchMe in them – such as children. If not everyone has WatchMe, then the ending isn’t exactly possible. What am I hinting at? Well, you’ll have to read and find out ;D

Character wise, no one really struck me. This isn’t a book where you get attached to characters. I do feel bad for one of the girls however. The cover and back talk about how three girls are central to the story in Harmony but, after one big scene, one of the girls just gets kicked to the side. The story rather concentrates on the other two girls.

So much for being a central character…^^:

Once Harmony started to pick up steam, I found myself really interested in the logic and world presented in Harmony. Rather than concentrate on physics or hardcore psychology, Harmony focused more on biology. As a student studying biology, I found the information presented fascinating (I did have some problems at times but hey, it’s SF. Let the imagination suspend ~).

Though it took awhile to get into, I found myself enjoying Harmony towards the end. The logic and twist ending were definitely up my alley. Harmony is up there on my Haikasoru favorite list but so far I have yet to find anything that can topple Zoo (though Ibis came super close).

Satisfied or Unsatisfied: Greatly Satisfied
Thoughts: Lol to everyone wearing pink – I just can’t see pink as a national color xD

Felt bad my poor figmas were gathering dust on the shelf so I decided to mess with them for these upcoming “opinions.” Expect my new nendoroids to make an appearance too ;3
(also, if you’re wondering why Kyon is ready to slap the vertebrae out of Izumi (I know his name is Koizumi but I just love calling him Izumi. Why? Out of sheer laziness x3), it has to do with my Kyon & the Birds comic. Specifically, the shojo version x3)

2 thoughts on “Harmony (light novel opinion)

  1. I was trying to find reveiws of this book. I might consider reading it now ^^. Actually I was about to use it on a book report but I found this review way after the due date. That’s too bad because I bet it would’ve been an interesting book to do a report on.

    • Oh wow, it’s been awhile since this I posted this ~ haha xD
      Harmony is definitely interesting though you’ll have to endure the beginning with all the emo, angst, and better than thou talk :3

      I’m sure it would have been ~ not too many people know of this book so you’d definitely have an advantage there. Also, the topic itself is good for debates. How far can we let society control us? How much individuality will we sacrifice for safety and good health? Those kinds of things ~

      A more YA book (watered down version of Harmony basically) is called MATCHED. The setting is kind of like Harmony where society rules and people are healthy and safe but not as bloody ~ That book though is a trilogy. The second volume is to be released soon. MATCHED was kind of boring until the end but then it got super addicting D: It’s also kind of girly if that turns you off (romantic) ~

      Hope you enjoy Harmony if you do get it!

Leave a Reply

