Black Butler #2 (manga opinion)

Now to the final days of PAW
These posts now are just random volumes I’ve had piling away somewhere
The first in line is Black Butler #2
[Ho snap, isn’t #3 supposed to be coming out soon?]
[See, told you I was backlogged!]
Does the book still manage to entertain or has it fallen?
It’s got Sebastian people, of course it  rocks!

Title: Black Butler
Mangaka: Yana Toboso


Summary on the back:

As high society’s social calendar opens up and the Season draws to a close, London is gripped by fear. Someone has taken to stalking women of the night and painting the town red…in their blood. The name on everyone’s lips seems to be “Jack the Ripper” — and as a result, the name on Queen Victoria’s lips is Phantomhive. Summoned to London to clean up the mess created by this madman, Ciel Phantomhive arrives with Sebastian, his extraordinary butler, at his side to pour him tea, polish his silver, and…investigate a serial killer. And with the aid (and occasional interference) of a few of the Phantomhive house’s numerous acquaintances, little stands in the way of the young earl getting to the bottom of this mystery. However, one question remains…can he handle the shattering truth behind it?

Our adventure with Ciel and his [awesome] butler Sebastian continues in volume #2. The first chapter serves as a reintroduction of the “helping” hands at the Phantomhive mansion, and show off Sebastian’s awesomeness. The first chapter also exposes Sebastian’s closet “cat dude” side xD

After chapter #1, the rest of the story focuses on trying to find a killer of prostitutes called “Jack the Ripper.” Helping in the investigations is Ciel’s aunt, Madam Red, and her [not as adapt as Sebastian] butler Grelle, along with Lau, some guy who does trading (assume he’s rich).

[Also, those who enjoy a good gender bender moment will like this volume as Ciel has to do some “undercover” work…in a dress >:D]

Sebastian continues to make this series amazing. Don’t know how you can hate him [as of volume #2]. And the fact that he is a closet “cat dude,” priceless.

For new characters, Madam Red seems to be a fav for me. Love her “lewd stories.” (and she felt up Sebastian which is a WIN for me). Undertaker also seems fun xD

Volume #2 gives off some heavy BL vibes – in a comedic way. Especially when Ciel is getting fitted for his “undercover” mission. Looking at the scene and where Sebastian is positioned, one’s mind can either go the BL route, or the Sebastian administering a suppository route xD Another “maybe” BL route was when the Undertaker asked for “payment” in exchange for his information. Sebastian, pulling on his glove, saying “You must not, under any circumstances, peek inside…” before disappearing with Undertaker into a room…just got dirty images in my head xD

My friend said she didn’t like Black Butler because it hints so much yet nothing happens. That’s the exact reason I love this manga. It’s just fun to read. It’s got humor, blood, and cross-dressing. Plus a guy wielding a chain saw. Confused? Then go read Black Butler #2 and find out how that is possible 8D

Satisfied or Unsatisfied: Satisfied
Thoughts: Grelle scares me [but not so much now that I found out he has a magical toenail xD]

15 thoughts on “Black Butler #2 (manga opinion)

  1. The dress part was amazing. Ciel looks soo cute~! He should seriously be a girl more often. And I just love that corset scene. I was talking about it with my friend in art after another friend showed me her very disturbing drawings of giraffes. We were both like, I <3 the corset scene.

  2. I’m not into BL at all, but I freaking love Black Butler for what it is, an awesome shonen series. (But hey, even I have to admit Ciel makes a pretty darn good girl!) Also, Sebastian loving cats makes me love him even more! : D

    • I’m not into BL but I love making BL jokes xD
      My friend who is a BL girl keeps screaming at me in frustration – JUST BE A BL GIRL ALREADY!
      No way ~
      I like my guys getting with the girl
      (so I can pretend I’m that girl and something like that can happen to me <3)

      Sebastian
      You and your kitty fetish
      Never saw that coming xD

    • It’s probably just my dirty mind then :P
      I didn’t really see any BL in 07-Ghost. Actually, I kept seeing the bishops as like, Teito’s many fathers xD
      (but then again, I’m forever on volume #3 until someone either rescues the title or I improve my Japanese enough to read the Japanese version ;_;)

    • I’m not sure what that set of kanji at the end of your sentence is. I want to say it’s manga but manga written in Japanese looks like this: 漫画

      If it is manga, then never fear. There’s a whole world out there that talks about manga. You should type in “manga” in google and see what pops up 8D Y

Leave a Reply

