Light Novel Opinion: Be With You

2 SB Viz novels down, only one more to go:
Socrates in Love Novel
(I don’t count Hot Gimmick since I never read the manga)
I purposely have held off on reading this because I heard it’s a real tearjerker.
You all saw how emotional I got with Brave Story.
But I want to read all the light novels I can get my hands on, no matter how adverse I am to sad things. Maybe reading something sad will make me appreciate all I have now? *tries to think positively*

Title: Be With You
Author: Takuji Ichikawa

Summary on the back:

When Takumi’s wife suddenly returns from the grave, he can’t believe his eyes. How could such a thing be possible? Is she here to stay? Has love miraculously triumphed over death? As Takumi starts looking for answers to these questions, he discovers the secret of his wife’s appearance is somehow linked to the past… and the future.

Takkun and his son Yuji have been doing minimal to keep themselves alive each day. They wear unwashed laundry. Eat the same foods. Sleep in an untidy apartment.  When Mio – Takkun’s wife and Yuji’s mother – died, so did their lives.

This all changes when Mio comes back to them. But how?

Be With You was a touching fast read. It was sweet to see how a family fallen apart by a member’s death is placed back together again when that member returns.

Learning about Takkun and Mio’s past was definitely the highlight of the book for me. I love back-stories of characters – makes them seem more interesting and alive (though that’s weird to say haha).

How Mio came back was definitely a surprise (I can honestly say I did not see that explanation coming at all).  But it helped tie everything together (in both the past and future).

Be With You was a bittersweet read. Though it’s happy to see a family together, it’s like Takkun (the main character) says:

Not all stories are filled with happiness. Some stories are sad. Most sad stories are made up of tales of parting. To this day, I have never heard a story of a meeting that did not also involve a parting.

Satisfied or Unsatisfied: Satisfied
Feelings: Warm fuzzies

7 thoughts on “Light Novel Opinion: Be With You

  1. This is yet another light novel that I keep meaning to buy! D: (though admittedly, Kamikaze Girls is a little higher on the list than this). Glad you enjoyed it though~

    • If you’re torn between the two, I recommend Kamikaze Girls over Be With You. Kamikaze Girls was great for laughs.
      I’m sad the sequel isn’t licensed for sale in the states ;_;

      Also, the manga of Kamikaze Girls is nice because it has a romantic interest for Ichigo not present in the book (the only reason I got the manga xD). Thought I’d throw that out if you were thinking of the manga as well ~

  2. Just like warriorhope, I have the novel on my shelf, but I have yet to take the time to read. I also have Socrates in Love, which I have yet to read as well…
    At least I read Kamikaze Girls, which I really liked! :)

    • Hey what matters is you got the book to support the light novel cause! :3 Or at least that’s what I say to justify why I have 4 hardcover volumes of a light novel series I haven’t read even one volume of yet ^^ [Twelve Kingdoms]

      Ah, I love Kamikaze Girls ~ Ichigo’s simple mind combined with Momoko’s snarky thoughts made that novel a joy.
      I’m hoping one day we’ll get to see the sequel here in the states…*crosses fingers*
      Socrates in Love is the next novel to try for me.
      I’m not looking forward to crying like a little boy though ^^:

  3. Pingback: Spoilers: Be With You « Spoils

Leave a Reply

