Manga Opinion: Maximum Ride volume #1

I’m such a Maximum Ride nut. Just recently I finished the 5th book (yeah, I was a little lazy getting around to it). Turned out to be good timing because the 6th book is coming out this month :D  *dances*

I hear in this book Fang has some competition for Max’s heart hoho (normally I don’t like love rivals but in this case, I’ll make the exception :3).

Title: Maximum Ride volume 1
Artist: NaRae Lee

Summary on the back:

Fourteen-year-old Maximum Ride knows what it’s like to soar above the world. She and all the members of her “flock” — Fang, Iggy, Nudge, Gasman, and Angel — are just like ordinary kids, except they have wings and can fly! It may seem like a dream come true to some, but for the flock it’s more like a living nightmare. When the mysterious lab known as the “School” turns up and kidnaps their youngest member, it’s up to Max to organize a rescue, but will help come in time?

I’m happy to say I liked the ‘manga’ adaptation of Maximum Ride. The art especially is wonderful (though you may notice certain things like bandages disappearing and reappearing on characters faces; certain accessories do that too – nothing major). I always had pictures of what the characters in the Maximum Ride looked like in my head. I’m pleased with how they turned out in the manga. Iggy is definitely more bishi than my imagined version (and no complains here on that :D). The little ones are super cute :3 Initially I was surprised by Fang’s long hair but I got over it pretty fast. It kind of suits him. Max was the only character whose character design took awhile to get used to. I always pictured her with straight hair so seeing her with curly hair was different. But like Fang, I got over it.

Story-wise it remains true to the book version (I think, I haven’t reread book #1 in a while; lol so much for being a Maximum Ride nut). What I like about the Maximum Ride series is it has both serious moments and humorous moments (mostly due to Max’s internal monologues). While we don’t get many of Max’s descriptions on things, we get awesome facial expressions and chibis instead :3 Definitely helps to lighten the situation up.

Volume #1 and Volume #2 both cover the first book in the Maximum Ride series: The Angel Experiments. I’m very pleased with the adaptation and I’m looking forward to reading Volume #2. Especially since that has the make-over scene (I’m so girly XD I love it when characters get dolled up) – and because of how volume #1 ends (very cliff hanger-ish)

Feeling: Excited to read more ^o^

2 thoughts on “Manga Opinion: Maximum Ride volume #1

  1. I haven’t read the original novels for this series, but the manga version was fantastic (though I’ve only read a few random chapters in Yen+)! I really need to buy both the manga and the novels…

    • I like the novels a lot because it’s action packed yet humorous at times (and the manga because the artwork is all that and a side of fries).
      However, sometimes things don’t make sense or are a bit random (like, when learning about the flock’s past. People are said to be dead but then randomly are alive later on but then stated to be dead again…it’s weird. Like Patterson forgot he what he was saying – if you read manga vol #2 (or the first and second novel) you’ll get what I’m saying).
      Despite it’s random-pulled-out-of-one’s-ass situations/facts, I like it :3
      Plus it’s getting good with romance (finally!)

Leave a Reply

