Manga Opinion: Pixie Pop (Gokkun! Pucho)

Apparently my scanner does not like neon pink...>_> Pucho...your hair...

Title: Pixie Pop (Gokkun! Pucho)
Author: Tooyama Ema

Summary (for the Tokyopop version):

Mayu, the daughter of a cafe owner, is down-in-the-dumps and unlucky in love…until she meets Pucho, the magical fairy of beverages. Now, whenever Mayu drinks something, she transforms! But there’s a catch–milk makes her grow, water turns her invisible, and pork soup turns her into a cute little piglet. But what will help her win the man of her dreams?

I forgot about this manga XD I got it a while back and left it on my shelf to gather dust.
I was waiting for my package from bk1.jp to finally ship (it did yesterday *throws hands up in joy*) and was looking at my shelf for something to read.  The bad thing with Nakayoshi releases is that if you look at a bunch of Nakayoshi series from the spine only, they look all the same (unless you get the special editions).  I was going to grab Kamichama Karin when I noticed Gokkun! Pucho. Hey! I bought that and never read it! XD
Feeling bad for neglecting it, I finally cracked it open for a read.

The artwork is VERY cute. Cute big eyed girls (esp Mayu – her eyes are seriously huge; 2/3’s of her face is eyes) and cute not-so-big-eyed-thankfully guys.  Everything in this manga screams cute and sweet. You can get diabetes from reading this manga – that’s how sugary sweet it is.

Story wise, Gokkun! Pucho starts when protagonist Mayu’s hope of recovering from a broken heart is turned to roadkill when the guy she was rejected by ends up being her new seat mate in her new year in school.  While drowning her sorrows with carbonated beverages, she ends up drinking a special droplet that grants her special powers depending on whatever it is she ingests.  Naturally this causes problems. But each time she transforms, she gets a little closer to the guy who she likes and gets to understand him better.

At first I thought the guy was a turd. But then as you continue to read, you understand why he rejected her. He didn’t even know who she was (she always watched from the shadows) so why accept a love confession from a complete stranger? (she could be a crazy…rapist…or something >_>; this would work better if the roles were reversed) However, the more Mayu interacts with him, the more you can see his feelings for her are changing – this is especially evident in the final chapter when Mayu, who ends up staying in the same room with Amamiya because she drank an energy drink that turned her into a boy and Amamiya’s friend mistakes her for his childhood friend, asks Amamiya how does he feel about Mayu. It was very cute :3 Until the last page when of course a love rival has to make an appearance (sigh).

The other characters were interesting. I like Amamiya’s friend, for all the 5 pages he has an appearance, the best. Not only does he think a random stranger is his BFF from elementary school or whatever, but he also cried when going through the test of courage XD

At the end of the volume are two bonus chapters – one about Pucho (the drink spirit) falling in love and another about Amamiya’s friend and his crush on Mayu’s friend. Both were funny (and of course cute. I don’t know how many times I’ve said that now).

Overall I enjoyed Gokkun! Pucho. It entertained and provided me with a cute romance story. I’m dreading the love rival part but what’s a shojo without a love rival? I’m looking forward to volume 2.

You can preview the series on mangafox: click here

18 thoughts on “Manga Opinion: Pixie Pop (Gokkun! Pucho)

  1. OMG! I love this manga. It’s so funny. I read it mostly because of the fact that I love Ema Tooyama’s works. And I just noticed that her past works have had huge eyes.

    • I’m sad it took me so long to read this! It really was an entertaining read :3

      For me, Ema Tooyama is either hit or miss. I really like Pixie Pop (Gokkun! Pucho) and Watashi ni XXX-nasai (well, for all the two chapters I’ve read so far XD) but I couldn’t get into Koko ni Iru yo! (it stated off cute but when it came to the bullies I got too PO’d and stopped ^^;) or Mamacolle.
      But I have to admit she has mad coloring skills :3 It’s the cover that made me get Pixie Pop (Gokkun! Pucho)

  2. It’s weird to me that this is by the same person who is writing Watashi ni XXX Shinasai. xD

    But it definitely looks cute. I’ve almost bought the Tokyopop version a couple of times but then been distracted by other series that I’m already buying, haha. I might just have to see if I can track the series down now on ebay or something (oh noes, the ebay addiction strikes again!). :]

    • This manga-ka is all over the radar! She even does guy manga (she’s like Yuu Watase almost – no genre is safe from her :3)!

      I’m surprised the Tokyopop version is already out of print (well, at least from what I saw on amazon and rightstuf). I didn’t think this series was that old!
      (ebay is awesome – I finally got Princess Princess, the whole manga , for 13$ – and no one fought me for it either. Prob bc it was in Japanese XD Learning a foreign language is definitely an a-d-v-a-n-t-a-g-e *heart*)

      [BTW I like your new avatar! Is it from that light novel now anime…um…b—–monogatari? Can’t remember the name off the top of my head ^^;]

      • Really? I had no idea! That makes me happy. :] I love how Watase is everywhere, but pretty much awesome (sometimes not so much, but overall awesome).

        Yeah, I don’t think they were out very long before going OOP. :[ (someone sniped me the other day for an almost full set of the Viz version of Tail of the Moon and it would have been a super deal [like 60 bucks for 14 volumes!]). D: haha, it might have been since it was in Japanese. I wish I could read Japanese. I understand very very little spoken and can’t even begin to read it. :[

        [Thanks~ It’s Togame from Katanagatari (different from Bakemonogatari that you’re thinking of, but from the same light novel author. :D]

  3. I’m happy that Yuu Watase is going to start up her Fushigi Yuugi Genbu series again :D I was collecting it in English (slowly) when she said she was putting it on hiatus and do something else.
    Me: *Dies*
    I’ve only read a couple of Yuu Watase’s stuff but I’ve enjoyed them (especially Imadoki and Alice the 19th).

    (Ho snap that’s a good deal! I kind of want Viz to re-release the series in those BIG editions but it’s too new so I doubt it ^^ I read volume #1 – a friend lent it – and I liked what I saw :3 Ninja comedy with romance and cute guys. Nice!)

    I too think it was because the series was in Japanese though I’ve had people fight me over that before. I rarely battle on ebay unless I have to – like when I found the complete collection of Never Give Up! that I HAD to have (I LOVE that series – I don’t care how generic and unoriginal it is. It makes me laugh :))
    Learning Japanese takes a while. What am I saying, I’m still trying to learn it! XD

    [Ah! All I remember is it’s the series where the artwork style reminded me of a more colorful version of Samurai Jack]

    Man that was a long post! >_<; Sorries

    • still hasn’t read GK, since I’m collecting the VIZBIG versions of the original FY first! D:
      I’ve read almost all of Watase’s translated works, I think. Alice 19th was the first manga series that I bought and read the whole thing (technically I bought a few random volumes of Sailor Moon first, but I regretfully don’t have the whole thing, so it doesn’t count), so it’s super special to me. And I just plain love Alice~

      Imadoki! is another of my favorites from her too! :D Ayashi no Ceres is highly suggested too. I’ve read the first few chapters of Arata Kangatari and I really like it so far; I think it will be her next big epic (though shonen this time, of course). Absolute Boyfriend is alright, but I don’t think it even compares to her other works, which makes me sad. :[

      The little I’ve seen of her unlicensed works seem good too (I’ve read a little of Epotoransu! Mai and Appare Jipangu!, and I think all of Suna no Tiara), I’m really not sure why they aren’t licensed. :[

      It would be a great series to put into VIZBIG editions! Maybe in a few years, hopefully (since like you said it is pretty new). I read the preview in Shojo Beat and actually didn’t really like it, but then there was a preview of the prequel in a later issue and I really liked it, so went and read a few scans and now know that I absolutely want it. Plus I LOVE her newest serial, Hadashi de Bara wo Fume! :D

      I had someone fight me for the Arina Tanemura KKJ artbook in Japanese (granted it is an artbook, so you don’t really have to know Japanese [why I bought it] but you know, haha), so I can see some people fighting for it. :]

      haha, I think I wrote more than you, so no worries at all. : D

      • I’m a bad girl because I was collecting FYG even though I’ve only got half of the first manga series ^^ I watched the anime to completion though. I wonder if that counts?
        Alice the 19th is a very good manga :3 A good series to start out with! My first manga I actually started buying was Tokyo Mew Mew *shamed* I never got the last volume because I didn’t like the way it ended – I figured if I don’t get the last one, I can make up whatever ending I want (that and the creepy fan service disturbed me too much) ^^ (right now it’s hidden in a container somewhere in the depths of my closet).
        Ayashi no Ceres – I tried that one but that was at the same time I was collecting FY – I prioritized FY over that one and forgot all about it. Maybe Viz will release is in BIG form now since so much time has passed by? My wallet would like that :3
        Absolute Boyfriend was…>_>; Let’s just say the ending was kind of disappointing. Made me glad I cheated and wanted to see the ending before I bought it. My reaction: 8O Is that even allowed in a shojo romance!?
        Arata Kangatari – is that the manga Yuu Watase was working on while FYG was on hold? It sounds familiar…but if it’s Watase, I’m willing to give it a try ^^
        (I want Appare Jipangu! to be translated :D I read scanlations and loved it! I’m shocked there are titles of Watase not yet translated! I thought Yuu Watase was like CLAMP – everyone is rabid for their work)

        There are a lot of older series I’d like to see go the BIG route. Like Basara and Please Save My Earth (I saw the anime – it was good, for all it leaves you on a cliffhanger ending that pretty much says buy the books if you want to figure out what happens).
        I remember reading that preview too! Back when Shojo Beat was still around. (RIP Shojo Beat) Gah so many manga to get so little money DX (I esp want Hadashi de Bara wo Fume after reading your posts about future manga coming out. Seriously looks good!)

        Haha, having battles on ebay XD How our addictions get the best of us sometimes. But sometimes you can’t help but feel like jumping on your desk and screaming YES when you win. Even the little part of your mind that says you are an idiot for spending that much is right there with the confetti and pie XD

        Yeah for long comments ~ :D

    • Read Pixie Pop then.
      It’s funny in a cute kid’s way :D

      *slaps spear out of arkynox’s hand*
      *hits over the head with a Ronald McDonald statue*
      *screams realizing she’s touching a clown related object*
      *throws said object into a school*
      *children scream at the scariness that is Ronald McDonald*
      Me: <_<||| *flees*

      Watch Tokyo Majin. It's so good! I'm going to put an opinion up soon. I stayed up last night watching it when I should have been in bed or studying. But I couldn't stop watching after what happened to my fav main guy. It was so sad :<

  4. From what I’ve heard the anime and manga are actually pretty different, lol. But I still say it counts!
    I’m really glad it was my first manga. :3
    haha, I’ve heard various accounts of Tokyo Mew Mew, and am kind of glad I never got it. xD
    Ayashi no Ceres-hmm…I think it would definitely be a good idea for Viz to put it into VIZBIG format. Since Arata Kangatari comes out in March it could be like, “hey guys check out her other series (now in VIZBIG for extra simplicity), even if they are shojo!” xD
    Yeah…Absolute Boyfriend was just kind of depressing. :/ I really preferred Soshi over Night and the ending seemed like a cop out that was intended to sort of appease both sides, that just kind of ended up pissing both sides off. :[
    Arata Kangatari-It’s one of the two she was working on (the other was Sakura Gari, which was shonen-ai and is now done). The first few chapters are on shonensunday right now if you want to try it for free legally. ;]
    I would love Appare Jipangu to be licensed too! It was a lot of fun, and I think it would do well since it is Watase.
    It is weird that more of her series aren’t licensed…Viz should get on that! xD

    VIZBIG is one of my favorite things ever. There are a lot of series that I’d love to start buying, but don’t really want to get the individual volumes for (when it’s like 20+, it’s a little daunting to start from the beginning). Not to mention that a lot of the older series are harder to find now.

    heh. I won SHK volume 3 (with the character card) this morning on ebay for like $5 and I definitely wanted to scream YES! xD

    Definitely yay for long comments~ :D

    • The beginning volumes of FY I have match some of the anime but the anime started skipping parts right where I stopped collecting. I was extremely saddened when the anime did not have the gang cross dressing :,(
      Yes, count your blessings indeed. I hope no one ever finds out that I actually bought volumes of TMM…

      Lol, a guy reading FY. Hey, it can happen ^^ If girls can like shounen, guys can like shojo (or so Otomen says). I only got to read the first few chapters of Absolute Boyfriend before I cheated and checked out the ending. I can imagine the Night fans not being too pleased (I told a friend what happened when she asked and she screamed NOOOOO!!!!). I’m also confused how the future will turn out for Soushi too when/if Night comes back…>_> (RANDOM: For some reason, when you said both sides got pissed off from the ending, Twilight came into my head. Team Jacob and Team Edward. I’m told there’s a Burger King commercial about that. XD)
      My thoughts exactly :D I haven’t heard any new announcements regarding the BIG versions though. My wallet would love VIZ forever if they continued with the BIG trend.
      Nice :D *high fives* Gotta love ebay. Earlier, I got 8 manga for 15$! *dances*

      Haha, sorry it took so long to reply! I was forcing myself to study and I ended up not having time to even blog! I know. The cruelty! DX

    • Haha, Gokkun! Pucho can definitely cause people to OD on cuteness XD if that’s even possible!
      I love the way the manga-ka colors. It just so eye catching :3

      I’m a fan of cute manga. It gives me warm happy feelings (especially after I watch something dark and depressing. I’m a weirdo, I know :P)

  5. @arkynox
    No he didn’t die.
    It was his…*bawls when remembering*
    Why do I watch anime where people I like keep dying!?
    Or the ending sucks…

    But it was so good I instantly forgave Tokyo Majin.
    I’m wishing a 3rd season would come out though so I can have some closure. You don’t end right before the final battle has finished…

Leave a Reply

