Light Novel Opinion: Wicked City: Black Guard

Title: Wicked City: Black Guard
Author: Hideyuki Kikuchi

Truth be told, I was debating whether to put an opinion of this light novel on my blog. I didn’t want to be responsible for the masses of people that will go WTF!? after reading this. But it’s a light novel and that’s one of the things I put up on my blog so…here it is…>_>;

Wicked City...

Summary on the back:

Another world exists beyond the one that humans can see a world populated by demons. For centuries, demons have crossed into our world, some looking for a new life, adventure, or just a job. But many are intent on causing chaos and destruction, feasting on human flesh and fear. A tenuous Peace Treaty is the only barrier between the worlds, the only thing protecting humankind from utter devastation.

Every hundred years the Treaty must be renewed and the time for that secret ceremony is at hand. Violent demonic splinter factions that are hell-bent on destroying the ancient pact are preparing to assassinate a key figure who is vital to the signing ceremony.

Enter the Black Guard, a secret police force that protects the boundary between the dark world and our own. It’s the job of two Black Guard agents Makie, a gorgeous demon, and Taki, a hard-boiled human to form an unlikely partnership, stop the assassination, and avert an all-out war. But to save both their worlds, they must risk not only their lives, but their very souls

I was surprised to run across this book on amazon. I had originally had this pre-ordered a LONG time ago on rightstuf but the listing for the book was removed from their site awhile back and so did my order.  It was because I was looking at Spice and Wolf reviews that I saw Wicked City under someone’s listamania for upcoming light novel books.

I was even more surprised to find the publisher of the book is Seven Seas. I liked their translations for Boogiepop and Shinigami no Ballad (though I do wish the rest of the books had gotten released but what can you do?) so I decided to give Wicked City a go. Now before I go into my opinion, I need a disclaimer:

IF YOU ARE A CHILD OR SOMEONE REALLY YOUNG THAT PROBABLY HASN’T HAD SEX ED, HAVEN’T BEEN MENTALLY SCARRED BY THE WORLD, AND AREN’T AT LEAST IN HIGH SCHOOL LEVEL, GO BACK TO YOUR NARUTO! THIS IS NOT MEANT AS AN INSULT! THIS BOOK IS NOT FOR THE YOUNG! SERIOUSLY! DO NOT READ THIS BOOK UNTIL YOU ARE WAY OLDER AND CAN HANDLE THE WEIRDNESS IN THIS BOOK. GO BACK! GO BACK!

Okay, now that I’ve said that and hopefully prevented the children of the world from losing their purity (who am I kidding; that disclaimer probably did nothing. Maybe it even sparked their curiosity. Or pissed them off. -_-“), on to my opinion.

First off, I labeled Zoo by Otsuichi as a WTF SF book. The stories in that collection were sometimes pretty out there. However, there is a new king in the WTF kingdom: Wicked City. In fact, it’s SO out there, Wicked City‘s existence has created a new label: OMG WTF!?

Before I read this book, I knew NOTHING about it. I didn’t know there was an anime and a live action based on it. I didn’t know the guy who wrote Vampire D did this. I didn’t even know what to expect.

Maybe I should have done my research >_>|||

This book was definitely something I would not have normally read. I think the author must have been sexually frustrated and angry or something while writing this. For starters, the book starts off with the main guy getting his monkey spanked (Me: 8O).  In chapter 3 someone rips their head off and throws it at the main guy (Me: o_O;). But the king of all OMG WTF comes from an enemy Taki was fighting – a vagina. Yeah. You read that right. He was fighting a vagina in the boy’s bathroom – or, in Taki’s word, a pussy. I had to put the book down and go YOU SERIOUS!? OMG WTF!? Who fights a VAGINA!? (and PLEASE don’t ask how he defeated it…just…no)
Almost everything in this book was related to sex: if someone wasn’t having sex (consensual or not), sex was used as a metaphor to describe certain emotions or situations. The title shouldn’t have been Wicked City, it should have been Sex in the City; Repeatedly.

I was almost ready to go SCREW THIS WEIRDNESS when I got to the last chapter of the book. It totally flipped around everything I had originally thought (there was a reason for all the sex stuff…well, maybe half of it. The other half I still blame on sexual frustrations of the author).   As a result, part of me wants to read the next book when it comes out because of the ending. The other part of me is pointing to the attacking vagina, like really? You really want to read this after seeing that?

I don’t know how to describe Wicked City. It was a good read but holy man was this rated M. Or maybe H, for horny. I would maybe say if you liked All You Need Is Kill but felt the need for sexual reproductive organs to run around and cause havoc, then Wicked City is a book you might be interested in. It’s definitely out there. Or at least in my opinion it was.

14 thoughts on “Light Novel Opinion: Wicked City: Black Guard

    • It had a good story but my goodness, this author was fixated on sex! When Taki was relating some feeling about doing something (I forgot ^^) with that of ejaculating I had to put the book down and walk away for a few minutes.
      That’s what took so long for me to read this book. I’d read little bits at a time because I got super uncomfortable reading it.
      Also, the rape scene was just BS >:(

      I’ve read another book by this author: Dark Wars. It was alright but he must have gotten a girlfriend or an inflatable doll by then because he wasn’t talking about sex 24/7 in that book.
      I’ve got Vampire D #1 on my shelf but now I’m scared to read it…

    • I wouldn’t be surprised if this was the bases for a hentai. I know it has an anime version but I heard that’s pretty mellow compared to the book. (or was it the other way around? *doesn’t care*)
      All I know is I’m hiding this book on my shelf WAY in the corner so people won’t notice it at first glance. Or second. Or third. Or hopefully ever.
      I think I’m going to stick to my Haikasoru books right now…
      I want my innocence back :’|

  1. Hey, I like young adult books too. They are really easy to get into (and if you haven’t read it in like 2 weeks, you don’t have to restart from the beginning to figure everything out again =D)
    I read about parasites so we have all our weirdness.

  2. I know this is an extremely old post, but I wanted to recommend against picking up the second one. It is, if possible, even more fixated on sex than the first book. Personally I liked the first one, I like the voice that the translator had even if its vastly different from the voice of the original text, so I managed to ignore all the rape and giant fighting vaginas. But this second one…I don’t know if I can finish it.

    The only REALLY positive thing I can think of is that the second one thankfully is not illustrated.

    • :U it has MORE sex!?
      wtf…I didn’t think you could have more sex. I mean…the girl is like…not…in a condition to have…sex…right!? Unless they did it while she’s…o_____O;;;
      Actually I wouldn’t put it past this author to write that…

      Haha, power to you to be able to ignore the attacking vaginas.
      Out of all the internal organs though, a VAGINA!?

      Thanks for the warning o___o
      I guess if I’m ever given the chance to borrow this book I will, just because I want to know what happens but I’m in no rush to buy the book…
      Vaginas and sex aren’t up my alley ^^:

      (haha, lol to your last comment – at least there aren’t any illustrations xD)

  3. I WAS WONDERING ,THIS IS MY FIRST JAPANESE ANIME
    I ENJOYED VERY MUCH , I WAS CONCERN IS THERE A PART 2 , WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF THE CHILD WAS A BOY OR A GIRL . AND IF THE CHILD HAD POWERS LIKE MOM AND POP
    IF SO E /MAIL ME SO I CAN CONTINUE WATCHING THE REST OF THE SAGA
    THE DUDE WHO DIRECTED SHOULD GET A AWARD FOR THE BRILLIANCE OF THIS CARTOON , THANK EVER SO MUCH ,I CAN’T WAIT FOR THE STORY TO COME ABOUT

    • Seven Seas has published a couple more of the light novels from this series but I can’t say for sure if they go beyond the anime, seeing as I haven’t watched it (I’ve only read this first book). You might want to ask that question to other bloggers who have read / watched this series.
      I’m sorry I couldn’t help you ^^;

Leave a Reply

