Light Novel Opinion: Spice and Wolf

I put the dust jacket version up. I was going to use the new cover but...I didn't want to have a naked girl flashing people XD

Title: Spice and Wolf

Author: Isuna Hasekura

Summary:

The life of a traveling merchant is a lonely one, a fact with which Kraft Lawrence is well acquainted. Wandering from town to town with just his horse, cart, and whatever wares have come his way, the peddler has pretty well settled into his routine—that is, until the night Lawrence finds a wolf goddess asleep in his cart. Taking the form of a fetching girl with wolf ears and a tail, Holo has wearied of tending to harvests in the countryside and strikes up a bargain with the merchant to lend him the cunning of “Holo the Wisewolf” to increase his profits in exchange for taking her along on his travels. What kind of businessman could turn down such an offer? Lawrence soon learns, though, that having an ancient goddess as a traveling companion can be a bit of a mixed blessing. Will this wolf girl turn out to be too wild to tame?

After reading so many SF books recently, I wanted to give myself something “light” to read.  My preorder of Spice and Wolf with rightstuf arrived just at the right time.

What I love about Spice and Wolf is the fact it is “light.” It didn’t require “hard” thinking (haha, I need to stop with the lame jokes). I could put the book down, come back three days later, and be able to easily continue where I left off without much problem.

For me, the story flowed very easily.  I never had to stop and go, wait…what just happened?

The main focus of the story – after Lawrence meets Holo – deals with Lawrence getting involved in a deal with another merchant over a rumored change in the current currency. I found myself wondering is it true or fake? Is Lawrence going to end up getting screwed over or will he win in the end? What happens was both expected yet unexpected at the same time.

Lawrence and Holo were both very entertaining characters. At first I wasn’t too fond of the two. Lawrence came off as a horny jealous girlfriend while Holo’s rapid mood swings were little creepy. However, the more you read the more comfortable you get with the characters.  The playful banter between Lawrence and Holo was also a plus. I love it when characters joke around with one another :D

Overall I found myself enjoying Spice and Wolf very much.  Even though there wasn’t much action in terms of fighting or trying to save the world, Spice and Wolf was still engaging for me (and I normally don’t like books where something isn’t being hacked apart haha). I noticed a few translation errors but nothing too major. I’m looking forward to future adventures with Lawrence and Holo.  I want to thank Yen Press for translating the light novel and also for providing dust jackets to those who preordered the book (while the cover isn’t as fugly as I thought now that I have it in person…I’m still not too keen on it. However, if I can deal with Kiki’s cover change, I can endure this one. Plus I have the dust jacket so it’s all good :D). Thank you too rightstuf for taking the time to put on said dust jacket on my book.

5 thoughts on “Light Novel Opinion: Spice and Wolf

  1. Haven’t read my copy yet, but I completely agree that the cover is not near as ugly in real life as it looks on the screen!! I’m still going to try and get a cover for mine (bought it at Barnes and Noble, so I didn’t get one D: ), but I guess I could deal with it…

    • Aw, that sucks.
      The dust jacket is nice but for me it’s nothing too major (but that doesn’t mean I’m not happy at having it XD)
      I’m actually more happy with the book itself :D I’m really looking forward to book #2 now.
      I hope you too enjoy it when you get around to reading it.

  2. My fav Part of the book is always leading up to the love , the shy looks that almost kisses, there the best part and if its a love/hate one all the more better cuz they try to fight it but cant!

    *sigh*

  3. SPOILERS ~~ *I don’t know why I put that; not like anyone else reads these posts haha~~

    That’s kind of how Spice and Wolf is.
    I heard in later volumes Lawrence finally says he loves her *kyaaa!* but that’s in like volume #3 or #5 (basically a long ways a way D:).

    I’m shocked: actual romance! I thought this would be teasing romance! Like, you want them to get together but they aren’t *coughBleachcough* (jk) or it never really tells you; or they do but you don’t get any of the cuteness. That’s suck romance (or so to me)

    I want to read the light novels targeted at romantics like myself XD
    One day…

  4. Pingback: SLH Costume Contest and Spice and Wolf Light Novel #2 « Spoils

Leave a Reply

