Manga Opinion: Cat Paradise vol #1

Cat Paradise...meow!

Title: Cat Paradise
Manga-ka: Yuji Iwahara

Cat Paradise is a manga I previewed on mangafox.  I liked what I saw so I got the first volume (I learned from 11th Cat – preview before trying 凸(`、´X)).

I found the story kind of random yet cool in a way. Using cats as weapons was definitely something unique (no I don’t mean the characters use their cat as a blunt objects XD). I like the protagonist Yumi and her cat Kansuke. Yumi seems to have a fetish with clothing her cat, which makes me laugh because at work I see the same thing. It humors me seeing the pets in their outfits, looking at me like this isn’t voluntary ( ̄ロ ̄|||.

Part of me is curious about where this story will go – will this be a generic storyline, where the good guys kick the bad guys’ butts (not that I’m opposed to that; just make it entertaining is all I ask ;)), or will there be some twists that I, the reader, will never see coming?  Zombie Loan has been throwing me into a loop with its recent volumes. What I thought was one thing turned out to be another. That’s why I’m wondering if Cat Paradise is going to follow suit. Right now things have been going nicely (maybe too nicely *suspicious*), yet there are still items we’re in the dark about.  Only future volumes will tell.

And naturally, my romantic side is also wanting to voice itself. I’m torn between Yumi x Kansuke (I know he is a cat but he has a human form too, albeit he’s got claws and wears what looks like baby pajamas XD There are many scenes that make me think Kansuke may like Yumi in a more than just cat/weapon – owner/user way) and Yumi x Akifuji (though knowing my luck, he’ll probably turn out to either be evil or die).

Overall I’m enjoying this new series. Yen Press does a wonderful job as always (I’m always saying that aren’t I? Haha) – everything read pretty smoothly for me.  Hopefully vol #2 doesn’t disappoint!

Take a peek on here to see if Cat Paradise is something you may want to try :)

Summary on the back:

Nine lives might not be enough to survive this catfight!

At Matabi Academy, students are allowed to bring their pet cats to the dorms. For Yumi Hayakawa, whose favorite hobby is making clothes for her kitty Kansuke, Matabi seems like a sure bet. After all, nothing can possibly go wrong with her best friend at her side! But on the first day of school, the two find themselves face-to-face with a murderous demonic minion on campus! Will Yumi and Kansuke be able to defend themselves and their school against an ancient cat demon’s thirst for vengeance?

3 thoughts on “Manga Opinion: Cat Paradise vol #1

  1. you know what! this just proves my piont, ur a secret cat lover. it’s ok i am here for u, you’er secret is safe w me and who ever reads this. But i was woundering why u like guys w cat ears but say u hate cats…Hmmm well one day u want to say hi to the cats,

  2. The evil bad guy is a cat. It’s only natural the cats have to clean up their own mess. Dogs are all f dat yo. If they were allowed at that school, that evil cat would be H-I-S-T-O-R-Y!

    I’m such a cat racist, aren’t I?

  3. Pingback: Catguy manga | Usadirectworld

Leave a Reply

