Manga Opinion: Sayonara, Zetsubou-Sensei vol #2

Power of negative thinking people...believe it XD

Title: Sayonara, Zetsubou-Sensei Volume 2
Manga-ka: Koji Kumeta

We continue into the wacky world of Sayonara, Zetsubou-Sensei with volume #2.  There’s really no storyline.  Each chapter just deals with something completely weird and random.  I can’t really say much because there’s nothing much to say.  This manga is definitely something different.  I’m glad I bought the Del Rey version because of the Translation Notes in the back.   Most of  the jokes in Sayonara, Zetsubou-Sensei fly straight over my head.  I’m proud I at least got the Dragon Ball Z reference. But for some reason, this manga still entertains me. I’m not sure if it’s just because of the random stuff this manga-ka comes up with or the entertainment the characters bring me (like the American student who threatens to sue everyone XD)

Sayonara, Zetsubou-Sensei is a manga for those with unique tastes.  Not everyone will love it but it has entertainment value if you’re patient enough to flip back and forth from the Translation Notes to figure out what the heck did the manga-ka mean when he said so and so.

Favorite Quotes:

“The milky way’s a sewer! And occasionally dead bodies float through it!”

Things we’re better off not knowing: “The people wearing the Mickey and Donald suits.”

“That monkey stole my act!”

“Now grab my ‘paintbrush.'” (and no, it’s not a real paintbrush. Just let your imagination fill in the blank)

“When people criticize themselves, they often soften the words to ease the hurt.”
Ex: Dirty Old Man = Healthy Appetites

Summary:

Meet the most melancholy high school teacher in Japan: Nozomu Itoshiki, whose fashion sense is strictly nineteenth-century, whose personal goal is self-annihilation, and whose signature phrase is “I’m in despair!” He’s similar to Franz Kafka and Jean-Paul Sartre – if Kafka and Sartre had had to deal with a classroom of short-skirted, lovesick students. And to make matters worse, Itoshiki’s family wants him to get married. Forget the bride, here comes the gloom!

4 thoughts on “Manga Opinion: Sayonara, Zetsubou-Sensei vol #2

  1. Lol, okay see that “paintbrush” quote comes from a chapter about Doujinshi – more specifically 4 koma (those comics with 4 panels). I don’t know why but the teacher freaked out saying there should be a 5th panel.
    The example he used was panel 1: boys draw a caricature of some painter; 2: one boy gets caught while his other friend runs for it; 3: the boy is forced to paint a better picture; 4: he’s painting the picture; 5: the painter tells the boy to grab his “paintbrush” XD (and the way it’s drawn was what made the whole thing hilarious!).

    Random:
    When you said dirty perv it reminded me of this game I’m playing now called Fairytale Fights. You play as fairytale characters and basically mass murder fairytale land. I got my dad to play with me (I get a trophy if I beat the game with multiplayers :3) – he’s playing as the Naked Emperor XD
    I was like Dad! WTF!? Really!? XD
    So now I’m playing a game with this old naked guy and it’s great! Haha! (that sounds so wrong!)

Leave a Reply

